I read comics. So should you.

Get Good (art edition): Part 2

In art on January 15, 2017 at 11:19 pm

Hello again! I still have a bunch of recommendations for artistic inspiration that I want to get to, so it seems I’ll be stretching this post out juuuuuuuuust a bit longer. Hopefully you guys find it worthwhile. I don’t have time for much this week, as all of my energy has been spent on running Magic Prerelease tournaments and fighting off depression to the point where I can get out of bed in the morning and not just hiss at every person I see.

pee-wee

Right now I’d like to briefly talk about something kind of new that I think has lots of learning potential. I have often wished that I’d luck into a situation where I could be a pro’s apprentice. You know, where I would come over to their studio a few times a week, and they’d show me the ropes and pass along all of their sweet, sweet knowledge and then introduce me to the inner circle when I was ready for a paying gig. Turns out that sort of thing pretty much doesn’t exist. BUT, the magic of internet crowd funding has given us opportunities that come close.

Because life is damn expensive and the world of comics is anything BUT stable and secure, more and more creators are looking to places like Patreon to give them a steady cushion of income while they’re out there pitching and producing and waiting for the checks to finally arrive. In exchange, many of them will share their process and a deeper look into the path that got them in the door. I’m going to get in on this action and see what happens.

My first victim will be Justin Jordan, creator of many awesome comics, like the Luther Strode series and Spread at Image, and Sombra at BOOM! Studios. At various tiers of patronage you can get everything from a complete script and pitch archive to lessons and essays about working in the biz to what will no doubt be a series of horribly awkward Q and A sessions each month. Now Justin is a writer, but there are plenty of creators at the art end who are offering similar experiences: Folks like Rafer RobertsMing Doyle, and Ben Templesmith. I recommend taking a good look around, as there are tons of talented people you can give a few bucks to in exchange for unique insights and helpful tips.

Next week, I promise to finish telling you about cool books, in particular ones that tackle subjects like anatomy and inking. I’m also going to take a look at schools which specialize in comic book art, and see what they have to offer. In the meantime, I will be doing all sorts of super important things, like making puppets based on Grant Morrison and playing board games about running a chain of fast food restaurants. And if you listen closely, you’ll be able to hear me on Inauguration Day, turning the word ‘fuck’ into a deadly weapon.

dune

 

Leave a Reply

